The Brain Health Institute recently underwent a 5-year review and received valuable feedback for our future development. One suggestion was to change our 4 Focus Areas to Focus Groups populated by leading investigators in each thematic area. To that end, we are creating Focus Area Working Groups (FAWGs).  There will be a FAWG for each Focus Area (Neurodevelopment, Motivational and Affective Neuroscience, Neurodegeneration and Injury, and Cognitive and Sensory Neuroscience). We will also establish a Junior Faculty Working (JFWG) composed of tenure-track junior faculty. The goals of this reorganization are to:

  • Engage Rutgers neuroscience faculty in BHI activities, including Plenary seminars, Symposia, Workshops etc.
  • Promote collaborations to foster multi-PI, center, and institutional research grants.
  • Build a supportive and collaborative Rutgers neuroscience community.

Each Working group is lead by a Chair and Vice-Chair and consists of 20 to 25 Rutgers faculty.

Working GroupChairVice-Chair
Neurodegeneration & Injury FAWGDetlev BoisonSteven Levison
Neurodevelopment FAWGWayne FisherMaria Chiara Manzini
Motivational & Affective Neuroscience FAWGDanielle DickZhiping Pang
Cognitive & Sensory Neuroscience FAWGDavid ZaldRobin Davis
Junior Faculty Working Group (JFWG)Victoria AbrairaMiriam Bocarsly
Postdoctoral Alliance Working Group (PAWG)
Jaclyn Eisdorfer Aysegul Gungor-Aydin

More information about the working group is available here-BHI Working Group Reorganization_May 5_2022